Examination Committee

The Examination Committee (EC) was formed to ensure that our examinations test the in-depth knowledge of the specialty of dentistry and continuously validates their knowledge, skills and experience for delivering quality patient outcomes. Each group is dedicated to the annual development and advancement of the certification and/or maintenance process.


The Examination Committee is comprised of three (3) subcommittees:

The eligibility, time commitment and the roles and responsibilities for each subcommittee are listed below.



Eligible candidates must meet the following minimal qualifications at the time of application:



Subcommittee members serve a 1-year term and may only serve on one (1) of the three (3) subcommittees.  A member’s term may be extended annually to a maximum of five (5) years. Re-appointments are based on performance and the needs of each subcommittee. After a Diplomate has served a five-year term and wish to serve again, they can reapply following a 12-month hiatus.

Subcommittee members must participate in the Examination Committee Workshop scheduled January 28-30, 2021. Subcommittee Members will also be required to participate in the Renewal of Certification Process if not already enrolled.

Subcommittee members are eligible to serve as examiners for the Oral Clinical Examination, if needed and invited.



Qualifying Examination Subcommittee (QES):

The Qualifying Examination (QE) is designed to generate evidence toward validation of the individuals’ advanced training in pediatric dentistry. The examination is composed of 200 objective, single-answer, multiple choice items. The QE is intended to assess the Examinee’s understanding of the scientific and biological principles that support the practice of pediatric dentistry, as well as current literature.


Members of the Qualifying Examination Subcommittee (QES) contribute by primarily writing and editing questions for the Qualifying Examination. Additional responsibilities include:



Oral Clinical Examination Subcommittee (OCES):


The purpose of the Oral Clinical Examination (OCE) is to enable the Candidate to demonstrate proficiency in diagnosis, treatment planning, and clinical care. The examination is designed to evaluate the Candidates knowledge and ability to solve clinical cases in pediatric dentistry. Each exam is comprised of clinical vignettes or scenarios from eight (8) domains.


Members of the Oral Clinical Examination Subcommittee (OCES) contribute by primarily collecting cases and writing and editing vignettes. Additional responsibilities include:



Note: This is not the application to serve as an examiner for the Oral Clinical Examination.


Renewal of Certification Process Subcommittee (ROCPS):


Renewal of Certification Process (ROC-P) is a continuous, rolling process documenting achievement in four critical areas of pediatric dentistry. Completion of the four areas is required for Time Limited Diplomates and include:



Members of the Renewal of Certification Process Subcommittee (ROCPS) contribute by primarily writing and editing questions for the ROC Examination or the CQI Modules. Additional responsibilities include:




The 2021 Examination Subcommittee Applications are now closed. The applications for the 2022 Examination Subcommittees will open on June 1, 2021.

2021 Examination Subcommittee Application materials are now being collated for review by the Subcommittee Chair. The Subcommittee Chair will provide recommendations to the ABPD Board of Directors for consideration and final approval during the October 2020 meeting. Following the October meeting, notifications will be emailed to all applicants on or before Friday, November 13, 2020. 

Please contact
info@abpd.org or 615-432-0082 with any questions.

2020 Examination Committee (EC)

Examination Committee Chair: 
LaRee Johnson, Raleigh, NC

Qualifying Examination Committee:   
Board LiaisonMarcio Guelmann, Gainesville, FL
Chair: Anupama Tate, Washington DC
Vice Chair: Rochelle "Shelley" Lindemeyer, Philadelphia, PA

Oral Clinical Examination Committee:  
Board Liaisons: Greg Olson, Houston, TX
Chair: Steven Rayes, Lyme Center, NH

Renewal of Certification Process Committee:  
Board Liaison: Ed Ginsberg, Baltimore, MD
Chair: Andrea Gonzales, Flower Mound, TX
Vice Chair: Nancy Rajchel, Mechanicsburg, PA

Examination Committee (EC) Members

  • Shreekrishna Akilesh - Phoenix, AZ
  • Mira Albert, Hinsdale, IL
  • Alexander Alcaraz - Sierra Madre, CA
  • Mark Boone - Virginia Beach, VA
  • James Boynton - Belleville, MI 
  • Ann Bynum - Simpsonville, SC
  • Jorge Caceda - Monroe Twp, NJ
  • Erica Caffrey - Kensington, MD
  • Glenn Canares - Baltimore, MD
  • Neeta Chandwani - Lexington, MA
  • Willie Chao - FPO, AP
  • Judith Chin - Fort Lauderdale, FL
  • David Ciesla - Greenwood, AR
  • Richard Cohen - Niles, MI
  • James Coll - York, PA
  • Brian Collins - Middlebury, VT
  • Matthew Cooke - Pittsburgh, PA
  • Yasmi Crystal - Bound Brook, NJ
  • Jennifer Criss, Nacogdoches, TX
  • Yasmi Crystal - Bound Brook, NJ
  • Jennifer Cully, Cincinnati, OH
  • Vineet Dhar - Ellicott City, MD
  • Hani Eid - Longview, WA
  • Roopa Gandhi - Aurora, CO
  • Matthew Geneser - Iowa City, IA
  • Andrea Gonzales - Flower Mound, TX 
  • Elizabeth Gosnell - Cincinnati, OH
  • Kim Hammersmith - Columbus, OH
  • Jennifer Hargleroad - Fort Collins, CO
  • Colleen Helder - Mickleton, NJ
  • Sharon Hill - Dallas, TX
  • Cynthia Hipp - Charleston, SC
  • Brian Hodgson - Milwaukee, WI
  • Craig Hollander - Saint Louis, MO
  • Janice Jackson - Birmingham, AL
  • Bina Katechia - Glastonbury, CT
  • Kavita Kohli - Dobbs Ferry, NY
  • Reena Kuba - Irving, TX
  • Flavia Lamberghini - Chicago, IL
  • Jacob Lee - San Clemente, CA
  • Jean Lewis - Fruitland, MD
  • Rochelle Lindemeyer - Philadelphia, PA 
  • Sally Sue Lombardi - Issaquah, WA
  • Cheen Loo - Boston, MA
  • Tad Mabry - Iowa City, IA
  • Jennifer MacLellan - Halifax, NS
  • Manav Malik - Sarasota, FL
  • Alton McWhorter - Dallas, TX
  • Madhu Mohan - Warren, NJ
  • Brent Moody - Oklahoma City, OK
  • Robert Nieders - Lexington, SC
  • Scott Nieman - Westerville, OH
  • Elizabeth Palmer - Lake Oswego, OR
  • Mitali Patel - Arlington, VA
  • Harold Pincus - Potomac, MD
  • Janell Plocheck - Fort Worth, TX
  • Danna Radcliff - Bastrop, TX
  • Nancy Rajchel - Mechanicsburg, PA
  • Steven Rayes - Lyme Center, NH
  • Hans Reinemer - Salt Lake City, UT
  • Jeffrey Rhodes - Rogers, AR
  • Priyanshi Ritwik - Metairie, LA
  • Michael Roseff - Wellington, FL
  • Sarita Shah John - Irving, TX
  • Daniela Silva - Los Angeles, CA
  • Shera Sims - Harrisonville, MO
  • Toddrick Smith - Germantown, TN
  • David Stanley - Murfreesboro, TN
  • Lisa Stanley - Murfreesboro, TN
  • Thomas Stark - APO, AE
  • Deborah Studen-Pavlovich - Pittsburgh, PA
  • Leslie Tanimura - Lafayette, CA
  • Anu Tate - Washington, DC
  • Adesegun Tewogbade - Stone Mountain, GA
  • Janice Townsend - Columbus, OH
  • Joseph Tylka - Long Grove, IL
  • Viviene Valdez - Concord, CA
  • Kaaren Vargas - North Liberty, IA
  • Mitzi Wasden - Cottonwood, AZ
  • Martha Wells - Memphis, TN
  • Whitney Wignall - Portland, ME
  • Karen Yee-Lo - Lakewood, WA