

ABPD is Committed to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI)

In October 2020, under the leadership of Dr. LaRee Johnson, ABPD created a DEI task force. In August of 2021, the ABPD board of directors voted to have the task force become a standing committee with the charge of establishing initiatives to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion in the ABPD organization.

As the decision-making body for ABPD, the board of directors plays a critical role in leading the organization to prioritize, support, and invest in strategic initiatives. In October of 2023, ABPD hired The Diversity Movement, a consulting firm with extensive expertise in DEI, to assist ABPD in developing a DEI commitment statement, which is as follows:

Our Commitment Statement

The American Board of Pediatric Dentistry (ABPD) believes that every child, every adolescent, and every individual with special needs deserves quality care. ABPD's commitment to excellence through a certification process that inspires lifelong learning enables pediatric dentists to deliver quality care for every individual. Intrinsically tied to its value a commitment to lifelong learning, ABPD acknowledges that it must continue to evolve and intentionally focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) to deliver excellence and quality pediatric oral health care.



Marcio Guelmann, DDS President, American Board of Pediatric Dentistry

ABPD defines DEI as:

- Diversity: A commitment to certifying pediatric dentists from varied backgrounds who respect the diversity of the patients, families, and communities they serve. Diversity includes (but is not limited to): different cultures, perspectives, abilities, racial and ethnic identities, gender identities and expressions, sexual orientations, socioeconomics, geographies, religions, and ages.
- Equity: A commitment to administering a fair and valid examination and striving to provide the tools that may be needed by individuals based on their unique situation.
- Inclusion: A commitment to listening and understanding in order to foster collaboration and build a safe and respectful environment, allowing for the participation of every individual in the board certification process.

How We're Taking Action

- · Creating a DEI Committee
- · Facilitating an in-person DEI workshop for board and staff members
- Establishing annual unconscious bias training for developers and examiners
- Removing unnecessary identifiers, such as gender, in exam content
- · Beginning data collection
- · And more!

As an integral part of our values, ABPD affirms all pediatric dentists have equal opportunity to become and remain board certified, regardless of age, gender, race, national origin, religious affiliation, and sexual orientation. Our ultimate goal is to promote positive oral health outcomes for all infants, children, adolescents, and individuals with special health care needs, regardless of their gender, race, and socioeconomic status.

A Thank You to Our 2023 OCE Examiners

Homa Amini Salwa Atwan Paul Bahn, III Deepali Bhanot **Mark Boone Richard Burke Glenn Canares** Maria-Jose Cervantes-Willie Chao Isabelle Chase Clayton Cheung **Judith Chin Elizabeth Chisholm David Ciesla** James Coll **Matthew Cooke** Yasmi Crystal Jennifer Cully Dedra Davis-Wallace **Vineet Dhar**

Lauren DiBenedetto Keri Discepolo **Jasmine Elmore** Shahrbanoo Fadavi **Timothy Fagan Lela Farmer** Zameera Fida Shane Fisher **Matthew Geneser Adi Genish Edward Ginsberg Andrea Gonzales Kimberly Hammersmith** Jennifer Hargleroad **Dawn Harvey Graham Hearn Cynthia Hipp Craig Hollander** Elsa Hui-Derksen **Brian Hodgson**

Autumn Hurd Melina Ilief-Ala Conway Jensen **Erin Johnson** E. LaRee Johnson Ajay Joshi Jeffrey Kahl Ramin Kashani **Carolyn Kerins** Priya Kothari Reena Kuba **Ashley Lebak Rochelle Lindemeyer** Jungyi Liu Sally Sue Lombardi Cheen Loo **Manav Malik Kelly Mansour AnnMarie Matusak Chanel McCreedy**

Carol McKown Alton McWhorter Maritza Morell Man Wai Ng **Robert Nieders Scott Nieman Gregory Olson Elizabeth Palmer Dorothy Pang Shannon Parris** Mitali Patel **Kimberly Patterson Michael Rabinowitz Tricia Ray** Steve K. Rayes **Hans Reinemer** Priyanshi Ritwik Julie Russo **Tara Schafer Scott Schwartz** Sarita Shah John

Barbara Sheller J C Shirley **Marc Siegel Frank Sierra** Daniela Silva** **Boyd Simkins Shera Sims Bryan Skar** Nuthyla Skuja **Toddrick Smith** Julio Sotillo Rodriguez **Thomas Stark Jacy Stauffer Deborah Studen-Pavlovich Michael Suchar** Tracy Takenaka **Thomas Tanbonliong Anupama Tate Nora Tleel**

Joseph Tylka

Kaaren Vargas
Elizabeth Velan
Rajesh Vij
Kavitha Viswanathan
Puneet Wadhwa
Mitzi Wasden
Michael Webb
Theresa White
Whitney Wignall
Cheryl Willett
Anne Wilson
Cynthia Wong
Yu-Ju Yang
Young Yi

**OCE Chair